Indian elections 2019: Congress announces candidates for Delhi

Published on Apr 22 2019 // bignews, Featured, Slideshow, World News

Head of the ongoing multi-phases polls, the Indian Congress Monday declared names of its candidates for six out of seven seats in capital New Delhi. However, the party has not announced a candidate for South Delhi. The probable names for the seat are Rajkumar Chauhan and Sushil Kumar, according to Indian media outlets. Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee president and former chief minister Sheila Dikshit will contest from North East Delhi while J P Aggarwal has been given the charge of Chandni Chowk.

Former DPCC president Ajay Maken will be contesting from New Delhi while Arvinder Singh Lovely from East Delhi. A five-time MLA, Lovely held important portfolios such as education, tourism, urban development and transport as a minister. Elected to the Assembly from Gandhi Nagar seat for the first time in 1998, he had not lost a single election. He did not contest the 2015 elections when AAP won a brute majority.

Olympic wrestler Sushil Kumar, whose name was in the running for West Delhi, has not been given a ticket. The party’s Purvanchali face Mahabal Mishra has been given charge instead. Rajesh Lilothia has been chosen to contest from North West Delhi.

Congress Central Election Committee announces candidates for the ensuing elections to the Lok Sabha from NCT of Delhi. The party is yet to announce a candidate for South Delhi. The probable names for the seat are Ramesh Kumar Chauhan and Sushil Kumar. This announcement has virtually closed all doors on the possibility of an alliance with AAP — the two parties had previously agreed to a 4-3 formula before talks were disrupted. They have not been able to reach an agreement in Haryana either, according to Indian Express.



Leave a Reply